top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemallory hicks

Sweet Potato Toast and Whole30 Thoughts

Day 4 and I might be regretting my choices, but not this toast

 

I decided to start my third round of Whole30 because being trapped in your home...with an eating disorder...surrounded by food...with only meal times to prep and plan...was making me lose my mind. With my nearly 21 year old brother back in the house, we're fully stocked with junk food, which would be tempting in normal circumstances, but torturous and triggering in these present ones. So, I turned to Whole30 to occupy my mind and gain back some sense of normalcy and control in a period where control has been almost completely taken away.


One of my biggest road blocks in Whole30 round 3 is that I'm a true creature of habit and it's taking a lot more out of me to not want to eat a breakfast hash for every single meal, which although would be on brand with my lifestyle, probably isn't wholly nutritious or the point of Whole30 at all. Last month, I went through a period where I (not kidding) ate breakfast tacos for every single meal for almost two weeks. Every meal. For two weeks. Do you know how many tacos that is? So many. And I never was tired of them! I could eat breakfast tacos for every meal for the rest of my life and be completely contented. I'll have to write down that recipe too because my breakfast tacos are so wonderful.


1. Take your sweet potatoes and cut off the ends. Proceed to cut length wise at about 1/4 in thickness.maximize my nutrition and keep myself from falling into a pit of food despair. I made three different flavors, but you can top yours with truly anything! If you're not Whole30-ing it up, you could use jelly, jams, deli meats, chocolate chips, or my personal favorite: ricotta cheese with a drizzle of honey. Jesus. YUM! So good.

Sweet Potato Toast

1 large sweet potato or 2 small sweet potatoes


variation 1 (far right):

-half an avocado, mashed

-1/2t ghee or avocado oil

-one egg white

-handful spinach

- sprinkle of everything but the bagel seasoning (mine is from Trader Joe's)

-sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes

-salt to taste


variation 2 (middle):

-1t almond butter (use as much or as little as you want)

-1 or 2 sliced strawberries

-sprinkle of cacao nibs


variation 3 (left):

-1t tahini

-half a small banana

-1/2t coconut butter

-sprinkle of cacao nibs

-sprinkle of sesame seeds


1. Take your sweet potatoes and cut of the ends. Proceed to cut length wise at about 1/4 in thickness.

2. Spray both sides and place in the oven or air fryer for 15-20min at 350 degrees. You want them to be soft-ish, so that the sugars have caramelized in the potatoes but not too hard or they'll taste under-cooked and yucky.

3. While your taters are cooking, prep your toppings. Cut fruit. Mash avocado in a small bowl with a pinch of salt. I have to melt my jar of coconut butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds to get it to drizzle-y consistency.

4. Towards the end of the cook time, you can saute your spinach and scramble egg white. In a small pan drop the ghee or avocado oil in the bottom and melt.

5. Once hot, throw in the handful of spinach and cook until it is bright green and wilted.

6. Beat up an egg white in a small bowl until it is fluffy and add to the spinach and cook to your liking. Typically, until all the egg whites have turned bright white.

7. Remove sweet potatoes from the oven when they're done and let cool for one or two minutes.


Assembly:

1. Scoop avocado onto the sweet potato and spread evenly. Top with scrambled egg and spinach mixture. Sprinkle with bagel seasoning, crushed red pepper, and salt (if you think it needs it).

2. Spread almond butter onto the second slice and top with sliced strawberries and cacao nibs.

3. Spread tahini onto the third slice. Top with sliced banana, drizzle of coconut butter, and sprinkle of sesame seeds and cacao nibs.


 
13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page