top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemallory hicks

Living in Nostalgia: No Bake PB&J Bars

I can almost taste my childhood

 

In my effort to feel something, these days, I revisit the nostalgia of my childhood. I've spent an exorbitant amount of time watching Gilmore Girls specifically to live in that warm, cozy feeling that only Stars Hollow can bring you for as long as my screen-fried eyes can bare (which is a frightening amount). I drink chamomile tea all day because the floral smell reminds me of the Peter Rabbit book report that I did in the first grade. Peter Rabbit also drinks lots of chamomile tea. My mom made her famous chocolate chip oatmeal cookies yesterday. Two of which I had for breakfast this morning, alternating bites between gulps of really hot, really strong black coffee, all while breezing into season six with the Gilmore ladies (I've burned through 2 seasons in two days). I can't decide if my thirteen year old self would be disappointed or proud that not much has changed in a decade.


All that being said, the most nostalgic flavor that I can think of is that of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I can't even remember the last time that I had one of those, but oh! Creamy peanut butter mixed with sweet jelly between two fluffy slices of bread? Washed down with a glass of cold milk?? God, there really is nothing better to me. Tastes like childhood. Tastes like the lunches my mom made me. Tastes like going to a friend's house when you're little and knowing that you'll be able to eat something there if they have the universally acknowledged delicious and necessary food items: peanut butter and jelly.



My brother has been nearly obsessed with these PB&J bars from Trader Joe's that are delicious but I thought I could make with my own twist. They're basically baked granola bars, like Nutrigrain bars: oat base with a fruit filling. Simple. Tasty. The ones I made aren't exact replicas by any means, but they're simple and oh, so good. Very simple. No baking required! I nearly ate half the pan by myself. Peanut butter flavor with sweet jelly filling between two layers of oatmeal. A twist on the PB&J but tastes just like it ought.


And, listen, I know these days peanut butter can be very polarizing because of allergies and such. That being said, you can sub any type of nut/seed butter you like and I'm sure tastes just as yummy and delicious. Enjoy!

 

PB&J Bars

Prep Time: 20min

Cook Time: 30min

ingredients

3 cups rolled oats

1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter (or any nut/seed butter)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon ground flax seed

1/4 cup fruit jam of your liking (I used strawberry)

instructions

1. In a food processor or blender, pulse the oats 3-4 times so that the texture is coarsely ground.

2. Pour rolled oats, peanut butter, honey, cinnamon, salt, and flax seed in a large bowl and mix completely. The texture will be somewhat crumbly but able to compact.

3. In a 9x9in pan press half of the oat mixture into the bottom--about a half centimeter thick. Press in tightly.

4. Using a small spatula or knife, spread a thin layer of jam across the oatmeal layer, covering the entire bottom.

5. Using the rest of the oatmeal, cover the jam and press into the pan. Make sure your jam layer is covered completely!

6. Chill in the fridge for 30min, cut into squares and serve!

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page